Shinymacage

Parenting, twins, life, work and worries.

Archive for May 4th, 2008

I can sing a rainbow!

Posted by shinymac on May 4, 2008

In the last 24 hours I have gone from a brunette/grey head to a red head, and then to a black head. My hair has been very very naughty. First of all, it started to scream “AGE!” at me, so I decided to do something about that. Not that I’m uncomfortable with my age, and detest being…… uhm….. how old am I again? Oh yes, that’s right, it’s my age – I forget things. 30. But, it’s just that it makes my hair look so dull with the odd streak of not-so-shiny silver running through it.

For a change, I decided to go with lightest brown. According to the box, it made dark hair go on the cusp of turning blonde, and I loved that idea. Just in time for summer, a nice light head of hair, although not light enough that I’d look somewhere within the realms of Gwen Stefani, but more kind of honey brown, if there is such a thing.

I read the instructions thoroughly, and I sat and finished off “All Families Are Psychotic” by Douglas Coupland while I left it longer than I should really have done, to take.
45 minutes later, and I removed the towel. Hmm, it looks good, WHEN IT’S WET! As soon as it was dry, I had bright ginger roots and dark almost black sections where I had obviously not applied any dye, and a few brown bits that hadn’t taken as well as the roots. I looked like a natural ginger who had tried to cover it up by colouring it black, and it was really starting to grow out!

A few hair clips arranged it into a way that made it look less….. bad! But today, I knew I had to do something about it. So I opted for my usual L’Oreal Excellence Natural Darkest Brown and am back to normal again. Well, normal until I lift up the top pieces and see a reddish sheen underneath, but I can live with that. Hey, at least it didn’t all fall out on the second attempt. Phew.

Posted in Life and stuff | Tagged: , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »