Shinymacage

Parenting, twins, life, work and worries.

Back to reality

Posted by shinymac on September 1, 2008

I am back in the UK after my week away in Italy. I’m back to new-ness. It turned out that the week the kids were away wasn’t my last week at work. I’ll still be there until the end of September, and I’m not as upset about that as I initially thought I would be, because I’ve been offered a job much closer to home, and much more convenient for the kids starting school, so it’s all good.

Alex too has been offered a new job, which he starts on 22nd September, and which he kept secret from me until the day we set off for our holiday! Little sneak!

Well, I bet you’re all wondering what I got up to on my holidays! Well, luckily for you guys, I kept a diary, and I am about to post it on here bit by bit!

DAY 1 – Sunday 24th August 2008

Today is day 1 of our holiday, our first ever family holiday abroad on our own.
As I write this, I am sat at the edge of our enormous terrace which overlooks the sea, in Hotel Mon Repos, Lido De Jesolo, Italy.
Evie and Marley are catching up on some z’s, due to having to catch an early morning flight from Stansted – we were up in our little Kings Arms hotel at 3am this morning!
We’ve had the whole day here, so we’ve already overindulged on huge delicious pizzas and hazelnut ice creams.
The kids have absolutely loved the beach, and the sea, and are becoming much braver and more adventurous, only slightly miffed that their new Barbie arm-bands have faulty valves, so won’t stay inflated!
We’re full of plans for the next 6 days, visits to Venice, walks along the beach, and even maybe crazy-golf!
I just hope we manage to squeeze everything in, before the time comes when we have to bid our farewells to this beautiful country and head back to Treviso Airport past countless fields full of red grapes.

Leave a comment